Hailstorm

I was taking an afternoon siesta
Because it was a Sunday
The only time I got to rest
And mentally prepare for Monday

It was a real pleasure
Until a rather rude awakening
The pitter patter of something outside
What an annoying thing

The noise was insistent
Like someone tapping on my window
I used my pillow to cover my ears
It didn't really help though

Giving up on my attempts
To bring my Z's back
Noise cancelling headphones
I realize is what I lack

Getting out of bed
I pulled up the window shade
When I looked outside
I felt my annoyance fade

Little circular white chunks
Were strewn on the ground
Tiny dots of ice
That was the source of the sound!

It's so strange that rain 
Changes its form 
From liquid to solid
Before hitting the ground

It's not really snow
That you can construct snowmen out of
Or indulge in a snowball fight
More like frozen bits of ice-cream - well, sort of

I looked upwards
As it fell from the sky
The pieces on the earth
Were already melting by

Hail isn't something
I had seen very often
But it has it's own beauty
And an element of fun
©ThatPuneChic


Leave a comment